For When Kale Won’t Do

I blame my grandmother for my insatiable sweet tooth. At barely a year old, she was sneaking sugar into my tea and scolding my mother for banishing chocolate from the house. She always came bearing treats –feeding others is just the way Polish women show affection it seems, because I have a very similar streak.

Screen Shot 2016-08-09 at 8.10.28 PM.jpg
  Age 14 with my lovely Babcia. She probably has candy in her pocket here.

Since I can remember, I have used baked goods as tools of decadent (innocent) manipulation: bribery laced cheesecake bars, sincere apology cinnamon rolls, ‘I was on my period’ muffins… the multipurpose of food is astounding.

Turning vegan hasn’t stopped me. The practice is still in full effect, but I’ve had to modify expectations. Some people can’t help but turn their noses at the word ‘vegan,’ and I can accept that. Let them be stubborn enough to snub the delicious creations from my kitchen -it really is their loss.

Screen Shot 2016-08-09 at 8.27.29 PM (1).jpg
                 How can you say no to that smile?

For anyone who is genuinely curious, I always turn them to Pinterest: in my humble opinion, the best source for a smorgasbord of veg-friendly recipes. You can check out my own dessert board here, but I’ve included some of the best that I’ve had the distinct pleasure of taste testing below.

For the ultimate indulgent breakfast..

vegan-french-toast-with-fresh-strawberries-and-coconut-whipped-cream-vegan-breakfast-frenchtoast (1).jpg
                                             The Minimalist Baker

try vegan french toast. With ridiculously simple ingredients, you can whip this up even on the groggiest morning. I highly recommend topping with coconut whipped cream or apple butter/blueberry jam for added sweetness. This is definitely the recipe to whip out when you’re trying to impress a house guest or potential beau – I won’t be the one to judge.

When you need to grab and go..

homemade-pecan-pie-larabar.jpg
                                           i.run.on.nutrition

I know, I know, “grab and go” realistically consists of something pre-packaged or super speedy like a banana or apple. Just hear me out – pre-make these homemade Pecan Pie Larabars and I promise you’ll feel like you’re eating dessert for breakfast on your morning commute. All with the added bonus of completely guilt-free ingredients.

When you’re craving a classic..

Cookie32-793x1024 (1).jpg
                                         Vegan Chow Down

nothing will do except for the Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie. Don’t underestimate the power of veganizing classic recipes. A few simple swaps (vegan butter, non-dairy milk and dairy free chocolate) make these undetectable to non-vegans.

It’s your turn to host a dinner party..

5-Ingredient-Caramel-PB-Truffles-Raw-caramel-creamy-salted-peanut-butter-dark-chocolate-shell-vegan-glutenfree (1).jpg
                                          The Minimalist Baker

so impress with these 5 ingredient (seriously!) Salted Caramel Peanut Butter Truffles. Granted these do take some time, but most of that is spent in the freezer. The process is a patience heavy exercise, but the outcome is well worth the effort and is guaranteed to leave your friends astonished at your domestic capabilities.

What are the desserts you whip up in a craving induced frenzy? Leave me your comments below.

 

Leave a Reply

